Pursuant to the Comprehensive Land Use Plan for CY 1997-2007, the land areas of the municipality was classified into residential, agricultural, commercial, industrial, institutional and other classification.

Residential Area

Residential houses for the past ten years are increased by 100%.  Remote areas of the four poblacion barangays of the area are now occupied with subdivision projects by land owners.  In general, the residential area will be towards the western, central and eastern portion of the municipality.

Detailed geographic mapping conducted within the area revealed the presence of metamorphosed gabbros1 as basement rock of Labason.  It is megascopically described as generally dark, greenish gray to very dark gray, medium coarse-grained, foliated, granular, with occasional lenses of quartz.  Outcrops of this rock type are abundant in the immediate vicinity of Mount Dansalan.  This rock unit is believed to be a part of the Pre-Tertiary Tunguauan Schists2 of Santos-Ynigo (1953) which was later mapped as Pre-Jurassic Granites (PBM, 1964) and named Dansalan Metamorphics (Querubin et. al, 1968) due to its type of locality..

Tungauan Schists is uncomfortably overlain by uplifted gravel deposit and coral reefs.  Occurrences of this lithologic unit evident along the lowlying hills of Mount Dansalan and within surrounding barangay of Labason.  The exposed gravel was megascopically described as gravelly sand with abundance of rounded to subrounded, pebble to cobble size clasts of quartz and metamorphic rocks.

Labason lies along the western coastal line of the Province of Zamboanga del Norte and is an integral part of the Zamboanga Peninsula.  It is the ninth town from Dipolog City going southward and is approximately 152 kilometers from the Provincial Capitol.  The municipality is bounded on the north by Sulu Sea, on the South by the municipality of Kalawit, on the West by the municipality of Gutalac, and on the east by the municipality of Liloy.